Our Story

About > Our Story

Our Story


The School of Medicine is a part of the Division of Medical Sciences (DMS) at Pyongyang University of Science & Technology (PUST).  In May of 2012, DPRK approved the opening of DMS and Dr. Moses Kahng was appointed the Founding Vice President of DMS.  The first school, the School of Dentistry, was opened in the Fall of 2015 under the leadership of Dr. Brian Lee as the Founding Dean.  The School of Medicine is scheduled to open in the Fall of 2016.

The first phase of the School of Medicine will be (an integrated) clinical training program (similar to US 3rd and 4th year clerkships) for the graduates of Pyongyang Medical School. The second phase will (establish formal) residency and fellowship programs in all specialties. The third phase will (have a full medical school curriculum in addition to the above.

Construction of the DMS building on the PUST campus will begin in the Spring of 2016. The campus will house five schools(The Schools of Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing, Pharmacy and Public Health).

The aspiration of our school is to train our students to become highly qualified physicians at internationally recognized levels.  They will have both the knowledge and clinical skills to diagnose and treat various complex medical diseases faced in North Korea today.  Our hope is that our trained physicians will become positive role models and the future leaders of the healthcare reform in DPRK.